Stupid Christians

Christians are encouraged to have child-like faith. “Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.” (Mark 10:15 ESV)

What does this mean for us, though? Are we not supposed to be skeptical, like the Bereans: searching the scriptures, to better understand the things of God? (Acts 17:11)

I am bothered by what I see in Christians these days. I don’t think it’s so much of a child-like faith, as it is a “childish” faith. One that is very susceptible to false teaching and stupid thinking.

This stupid, unthinking Christianity has caused uncertainty in my own faith life. When I hear Christians say stupid things, and I find myself agreeing with the godless people more than I agree with the Christians, then I feel concerned about my beliefs. “Do Christians need to believe, think, behave like that?! Because, if so, I want out!”

Lately, I’m finding that some of the most cringe-worth comments from Christians are in response to the new challenges facing our society. Is there anything beyond the natural world we see? How do you know there is a God? How do you know that the Gospel accounts are historical and accurate? Why believe in God? What to do when God’s law and civil law do not agree, as we’re seeing with life issues and family issues today.

In our North American society, not everyone is Christian anymore. When looking at “the west” in a generic sense, it is not a given that everyone wants to go to church on Sundays. And I think the church is still trying to figure out how to respond to this change.

Today, Christians have even more reason to be “prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you” (1 Peter 3:15). And as best I can tell, Christians are doing a bad job of it. If your defence of Christianity is “Adam and Eve; not Adam and Steve”, or “everyone knows there’s a God, they just don’t want to believe it”… then I shake my head at you.

And wonder if this Christianity is even worth reconciling in my head any longer.

6 thoughts on “Stupid Christians

  1. Hello. Fellow traveler and confessional Lutheran here (though I hardly ever blog on religion). I’ve seen your two blog posts, I’ve seen your Twitter, and in my opinion, you have good intellectual instincts. You are right to critique the stupid Christianity that gets more upset by your use of the word “bullshit” than by its own thoughtlessness. You are right to critique its insularity and its anti-intellectualism. I too am tired of these things.

    Have you read Levi Nunnick’s story of how he “became and unbecame an atheist”? (He’s a Lutheran too.) I found it on his blog a while back, though sadly it went down. But I found it again with the Wayback Machine. Here it is, if you want to read:

    https://web.archive.org/web/20141220155319/http://ln.roon.io/how-i-became-and-unbecame-an-atheist

    Not that reading it will magically fix everything — not at all — but you may find it refreshing, if only because he went through a similar place. The peace of the Lord be with you always.

    Like

  2. Loved your piece, and wish to add my name to the list of those who’ve had it with Christendumb and Evanjellyfish making us look like pinheads. Given your comment @ Pastoal Meanderings, I trust you’re still in the faith; anyway, it’s great to have another skeptic around!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey. Thanks for reaching out! I’m sorry for the long delay in responding, but I’ve been terrible at maintaining my blog.

      I briefly skimmed your site. So, you’re a LCMS’er-type too? Yes, I’m a Skeptic. And I have liberal political leanings that often look like “humanism”. But, mercifully, I still have faith (though I’ve been at the edge of the cliff many times). God help my unbelief!

      I think I would have a better time with my faith struggles and doubts if there wasn’t so much nonsense in the Christian world. Now, to be sure, leaving Christianity because of stupid Christians is still a poor reason. If Christianity is BS, then that should be the reason for leaving… not because you don’t like others in the Body of Christ. But I think you understand.

      Keep in touch!

      Like

      1. I’m even worse, as you can see! As for me, I’m an LCMesser who can answer the question “why do you bother going to church?” with the Gospel response “Lord to whom shall we go/You have the words of eternal life” and with that alone. Politically I’m a libertairan because I see no other philosophy concordant with the third use of the Law; ie I believe in confining being liberal to one’s own money. You’rer right, though, that one shouldn’t leave the faith because of jackasses, as they are ubiquitous and no group has cornered the market.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

